teksty trzecie
ref./use

Carola Dietze vs. Dipesh Chakrabarty

Carola Dietze, „Toward a History on Equal Terms: A Discussion of „Provincializing Europe”” pdf

Dipesh Chakrabarty, „In Defense of „Provincializing Europe”: A Response to Carola Dietze” pdf

„History and Theory”, Vol. 47, No. 1 (Feb., 2008)

Dietze:

Dipesh Chakrabarty’s Provincializing Europe: Postcolonial Thought and Historical Difference originates from the context of the Subaltern Studies Group. It is perhaps the most extensive and profound study of the relationship between Eurocentrism and the narratives of modernity in history-writing, connecting a fundamental critique of the discipline of history with the demand for a history of the subaltern. In the following, I first sum up the main arguments of Chakrabarty’s book (part II). In part III („History”), I argue that there is no necessary connection between history-writing and the narratives of modernity; on the contrary, at the beginning of the discipline of history there was a turn exactly away from such metanarratives. In part IV („Modernity”), I criticize the use of the term „modernity” in Provincializing Europe. I propose to use a radical „historicism” (German Historismus) in order to historicize the concept of modernity instead of deconstructing the discipline of history. In part V, a „History on Equal Terms,” I critique the concept of „modernity” in general and sketch out what a history based on a deconstruction of the concept of modernity and within the discipline of history might look like. My overall aim is to analyze Chakrabarty’s book and to take up what can be help ful in order to outline a way of writing world history.

Chakrabarty:

[…] as the reader will see, most our disagreements arise from my perception that Dietze has misread my book in small but important ways. I take the blame for the misreading. For reasons mainly personal, I had to finish PE in a great hurry. As a result PE lacks a chapter that summarizes its fundamental argument. (I have sought to provide this in my new Preface to the second edition.) The argument is dispersed over different chapters without adequate signposts and is sometimes made in far too cryptic a fashion. When readers have got the nuances of my argument – and, surprisingly, quite a few have – I have been lucky: they have done so in spite of the faults of exposition from which PE suffers. Dietze offers me another chance to explain what I was attempting to accomplish in PE. I am grateful to her for that opportunity. I also would like to make it clear that the few critical responses I offer to Dietze ‚s idea and ideal of „equal histories” do not – and are not meant to – do justice to the complex project she proposes. My responses arise from the context of my answers to her criticism of PE. But I think the idea of „equal histories” deserves a serious and separate discussion. I leave that for another occasion.

komentarze 22 to “Carola Dietze vs. Dipesh Chakrabarty”

  1. obviously like your web site however you need to test the
    spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with
    spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to inform the truth then again I will definitely come again again.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about internet marketing online advertising.
    Regards

  3. diet

    Carola Dietze vs. Dipesh Chakrabarty | teksty trzecie

  4. Hi there, I think your blog could be having internet browser compatibility problems.

    Whenever I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues.

    I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, wonderful website!

  5. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading
    it, you may be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your
    blog and will come back at some point. I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

  6. It’s really a nice and useful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you shared this
    helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

  7. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I
    am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the
    last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this
    certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  8. Excellent site you have here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours
    nowadays. I seriously appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  9. certainly like your website however you have to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to inform the reality then again I will
    definitely come again again.

  10. Amazing! Its actually remarkable piece of writing, I have got much clear idea about
    from this paragraph.

  11. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our entire
    community will be thankful to you.

  12. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  13. It’s an remarkable piece of writing in favor of all the online visitors; they
    will get advantage from it I am sure.

  14. I’m very pleased to uncover this great site. I wanted to thank you for
    ones time just for this wonderful read!!
    I definitely loved every bit of it and i also have you saved to fav to check out new information in your website.

  15. You’ve maqde some reallʏ good points there.
    I looked on the internert foor additional informatiօn about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on tjis
    web site.

  16. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also go to see this blog on regular basis to take updated from most recent news.

  17. weight loss pill that works

    Carola Dietze vs. Dipesh Chakrabarty | teksty trzecie

  18. Still others work at the cellular level to initiate healthy
    changes in our bodies. Glucomannan has a particular means to
    soak up water and swell inside the stomach.
    Note that you can only buy Adiphene online as they aren’t available in stores.

  19. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website
    is wonderful, let alone the content!

  20. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been tto thiks skte before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

  21. Hi there everybody, here every one is sharing such knowledge,
    thus it’s fastidious to read this webpage, and I used to visit this webpage every
    day.


Skomentuj

